top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Rock, Paper, Scissors

Hello Hatters,


The phrase, “rock, paper, scissors” (R.P.S.) conjures up memories of a game from childhood.  It’s a fair and random way to make a choice.  Players hit their fist into their other palm for three repetitions and on the fourth time, they pick a hand signal.  Someone wins the round, thus a determination is made. I’m also reminded of “Eeny, meeny, miny, moe.”  How about you?  Remember any of that stuff?


I recently learned there’s a different version of R.P.S. as demonstrated on the Big Bang Theory TV series (which I rarely watched).  Complicate your life by using that one, “Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock.”I’ll stick to the simpler rendition.


In my random thought processes today, I thought of a richer context for R.P.S.


I’ll start with the P for paper.  As a writer, I feel like my story is still being written and shared.  I do most of my own writing electronically, but paper is still symbolic of my story or a narrative of the journey.  As I take this voyage of life, I am grateful for things like paper with paint, colored pencils, erasers, and other things that symbolize the strokes made along the artistic and reflective way.


Secondly, I’ll pick the S for scissors.  Much like paper that can be folded and cut with scissors to make different kinds of snowflakes, scissors hold symbols for me. For example, to break away from harsh feelings, selfish thoughts, and unhealthy habits to create kind and beautiful actions or viewpoint for myself and others.  Each day is a new creation which might require a bit of pruning, like a plant or tree.  Maybe that part isn’t fun, but it’s necessary.


Finally, when I think of the R for rock, I consider my faith walk.  Some days I might feel like I’m in quicksand, but I know who has my hand and that’s the Rock of Ages, my Jesus.  In my witness, I don’t want to be a stumbling block to others. I don’t want to trip on stones. I hold onto the truth that Jesus is the Cornerstone of my beliefs.


Jesus is in charge of my “rock, paper, scissors” path of life.  As a writer who wears many hats just like you, I struggle to let go of expectations and outcomes.  “Lead me, Lord, and work the minutes, hours, and days according to Your will and purpose.”


Amen,

MT Penny

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page