top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Roses and Owls

Hello Hatters,


I was studying in the Bible and I felt a lump of paper underneath the pages. I flipped through the chapters and found small paper cards that were left over from a Bible study activity. I probably meant to use them as bookmarks in the future. Anyway, the images were of roses and owls. I felt the gift of a visual that expressed my state of mind.


For the rose, I have experienced the beauty of the rose in romance and companionship with Country Hubby. I have also felt the thorn of his afflictions down through the years. He suffered, and I along side of his aches and disappointments. His determination would bring the rose again as he pushed through limitations. Thorns again as he sold his boat and gave up gardening. Hard things for him and difficult for me to watch as I saw his strength draining. The rose again as we knew that when the struggle was over, he would be at peace and whole again in Heaven with our Savior.


As far as the owl image, I have questions about Country Hubby’s comings and going’s in his eternal state. Anyone who knew him would imagine him fishing, but I believe it will be called “catching!” It could be that one of his new purposes could be gardening. I have questions: Will there be okra for him? That man could put away the okra: fried, simmered with tomatoes, or in a gumbo. The thing for which I have assurance is that he will have access to the tree of life. My Bible promises that those who are victorious in Jesus will be given fruit from the tree of life in the paradise of God. So my owl-like curiosity has questions and the wisdom I have gleaned from the Word is there will be fruit.


I had blueberries this morning and I wonder about heavenly fruits. I’m in a constant state of connecting dots and making them meaningful for me and for you. Some dots don’t connect and some questions don’t have answers. The path I’m on as a writer who wears many hats just like you, brought me to see the beauty of connecting roses and owls.


Hugzzzzz,

MT Penny




50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page