top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

SETTLE DOWN

Hello Hatters,


This blog comes with a lot of seeking. I was unnerved by a dream about Country Hubby. He was working in a crowded environment and his brow was furrowed and I could tell he was frustrated.  I couldn’t get to him to help out. I was an outsider in the dream, unable to take action.  So, I woke up unsettled.


I rationalized that he’s not here.  If you're new to my blog, my hubby passed away two years ago. He’s completely fine, but this dream affected and rattled me.  I have an app on my phone with spoken Scripture, so I chose the topic of Dwell with God. I listen to 33 passages. It helped some, but I kept seeking solace.


Eventually, I got my hymnal and sang songs a cappella. Sometimes I play piano to worship, but today I needed words.  Lots of verses, more stanzas, more messages. Then a song I love popped into my head, “Great are You, Lord.”  Many times it had lilted over my heart like a healing. I couldn’t get all the words correct by memory, so I thought, "Surely, it’s in this hymnal." So I looked at the index.


It was there. All I had to do was turn over one more page from where I’d been singing.  It was so close. I felt so loved in that moment.  The settled soul that I sought was found on the next page.  When I saw that it was written by Michael W. Smith, I decided to search YouTube. I found a performance that included “Let it Rain.”


I had a lunch date, so I left to be on time. As soon as I got in my car, the radio played another song with the lyrics, “Let it Rain.”  Repetition emphasizes importance.


As I calmed down. I felt like the Lord walked me through many steps to reach that sweet spot of love’s presence.  I am a writer who wears many hats just like you, and I need lots of reminders of the tender loving care that is always there. I didn't quit the search.


When I can’t see, indeed, let it rain. Calm down the dust that obscures my vision. With scripture and songs, I’m restored to a state of feeling the love and of being seen…. a soul that is calmer.


Don't give up. Keep seeking.

MT Penny

48 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page