top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

The Stuffing

Hello Hatters,


Three or four months ago, I made a trip to the Smoky Mountains. I brought back six  different stuffed animals. Included in the assortment was a moose, three black bears, a fox, and a bat.  When my grammybabies were over, I had them close their eyes as I laid the stuffed animals on the carpet.


My intention was for them to open their eyes and pick out their favorite. Little did I know that my rescue dog would get there first.  Curiously enough, the dog instantly grabbed the bat for herself.  It has been her toy ever since.


While I believe those stuffed animals were made pretty well, the bat was never meant to be a dog toy.  I discovered a rip in the fabric, so I got needle, thread, thimble, and scissors for the mending.  When I was done, I laid out the bat to see what my rescue dog would do.  She sniffed it and as she discovered the new stitching, she started licking it.  I presume in dog language that was a tenderness she showed to help heal the wound. Mind you, I’m just guessing.


On another note of mending, I am resting my right foot regularly as per doctor’s orders.  Yesterday, I called my dog over to hold her during this period of resting.  I was reclining on my couch, and she jumped on my head.  One of her claws hurt my lip, and I just sort of lost it. I shed some tears and did a bit of wailing because it was unexpected and it hurt.  The next thing I knew, my dog was howling with me.  We were certainly a pair.  What a sight!


Just like wear and tear on Batty, the dog’s toy, life can wound us and knock out the stuffing.  We don’t always have necessary needle, thread, thimble, and scissors to make things right.  As a writer, who wears many hats just like you, some events happen to us that will never be set straight again.  So, we do the best we can with the time we’re given.  A bit of wailing or howling can let the steam out.  Talking with family and friends prevents isolation.  Faith, hope, and time holds the future.  New stuffing is optional.


MT Penny

32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page