top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

The Wind

Hello Hatters,


There’s not much wind today; Siri says it’s only blowing 5 MPH.  Sometimes you can believe Siri and sometimes you can’t.  Just last week, there was a drizzling rain and Siri told me the forecast held no chance for rain.  What???  But, I don’t have to ask Siri about the wind, because I have lots of windchimes that tell me the story.  Recently, we had 40 MPH winds, so it was like a windchime festival outside.  My living room is right off the back patio, so I heard a lot of different clanging sounds from my windchime collection.


This afternoon, I saw a rare site of a dangling leaf blowing around the patio roof.  Maybe it was hanging from a spiderweb. I don’t know.  I went outside to take a closer look, and BAM, it was gone.  Fortunately, I took a video from the inside before I went out to investigate.


The windchimes were not moving, but this little hanging leaf was really twirling. Five MPH winds may not move metal pipes, but it sure made that little leaf spin.


Sometimes, I’m the metal pipe and sometimes I’m the leaf.  When the gentle winds of life blow my way, I can make pretty good music.  If the wind gusts are high, I am more like that fragile leaf with a spinning world.  It can make me dizzy and keep me hanging on to Scripture to see it through.


In a perfect faith walk, I would abide in Jesus during gentle breezes or gusty windstorms.  My devotion to Christ and the Scriptures is meant for each moment, not based on circumstance.  More than that, I’m so grateful to be loved by a Savior who understands my frailties.  He doesn’t love me anymore if I’m the metal pipe or if I’m the leaf.  What a gift of love!


I went to an early Valentine’s Day celebration at church.  I was perfectly fine until we started singing love songs.  A tear here, a tear there, and then the floodgates opened.  I arrived to church perfectly sound, and left with tissues in hand.  I just never know when I’ll crumble at the loss of my Country Hubby.  It’s been 1156 days.  In so many ways, I’m stronger.  The only thing I can do is keep going.


Those who love me understand the ups and downs.


At times, the wind is in my sails.


Then, in the lyrics of a song, I’m in the middle of a headwind.  I need to land somewhere, get quiet, pray and meditate. Only then, can I get back on course.


Blow wind blow.  I’m still moving.


MT Penny

23 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page