top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Tickled

Hello Hatters,


I’m smiling from ear to ear.  I recall yesterday’s phone call from someone who thought I was still working. I don’t always answer the phone from unknown callers, but I took a chance on this one.  I especially enjoyed the accent of this gentleman trying to sell me a set of products. Then he asked me if I would consider improving any of my processes.  I chuckled and told him, “Yeah, I’ve already improved my processes. (pause) I retired.“


My answer really surprised him, so he didn’t know what to say.  I wished him good luck and asked him to please take me off his list.    He said he surely would.


This is not the first phone call I’ve received from someone trying to sell me a product or service.  I have time to listen and when I hear a brief pause, I let them in on my current status.  I have received congratulations from complete strangers and sighs of envy as they confess they wish they were retired, too.


After working fifty years to support myself and my family, I lived by deadlines.  While I don’t report to an office anymore, my activity in my callings has not stopped.  Rather, it’s changed into being present for others, writing my blog, and learning more about my Jesus and His Word.  The shift is a welcomed remake of each day.  I enjoy learning and sharing, as well as the stillness with my thoughts and prayers.


Perhaps my greatest daily difference is the slower pace for which I move.  I’m not talking about physical movement, but rather the choice to rush less, and be kind to my emotional and spiritual wellbeing.  It’s not a perfect process and I’m not always aware of the anxiety that can rapidly consume my heart, but I’m getting better at recognizing the signals.  I first have to admit it, name it, and give it up to God.  The peace with myself and others is priceless.


As a writer who wears many hats just like you, you don’t have to wait for retirement to achieve this kind of living. Peace will not find you. You must pursue it. What works for me, may be different for you and that’s OK.  Don’t kid yourself, though. Whatever you decide to do to improve your well-being, it will be work.  Today, I decide to be kind to myself. Today, I decide to treasure and protect my mind and heart.  In addition, I’m going to giggle and get tickled as often as I am able.  It might be an accent from an unknown caller. It might be an encouraging thumbs up to a skateboarder in the heat who returned my smile.  It could be speaking Pig Latin with a friend…


A memory, a song, a choice to get tickled…


MT Penny

34 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Outside

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page