top of page
  • Writer's pictureMT Penny

Weather Forecast


Hello Hatters,

“Unusual weather we’re having, ain’t it!” says the Cowardly Lion in The Wizard of Oz, as he and his friends wake up to snow in the poppy field. The spell of the Wicked Witch of the West was bested by Glinda, the Good Witch of the North. She sent snow to help the characters in that movie continue their trip to The Emerald City.


Sometimes, it’s not the weather change that is noticeable, but rather a mood swing. I was recently on a trip and out of the blue, I became blue. If I can’t immediately identify the trigger, I must slow the pace and retrace where I was and where I landed. What happened in that space and where are my thoughts?


I’ve traveled down through the years for work and for fun. Lately, my mind travels without my body leaving for a destination. I ponder events in my past and I am curious about today and tomorrow. Our minds are gifted, yet it takes restraint to choose the perspective that will move us forward. A paradox for sure. Yet…. Sometimes, I’m motionless. No wind in my sails. The sun rises. The sun sets. The moon has its phases. I have to realize that I’m stuck. I must shift positions.


As far as a weather forecast, it’s up in the air. Literally! At times, my heart’s a tornado and I’m aching from headwinds. The grief path is unpredictable and I wish the storm would pass. It does ebb and flow, but its presence has a weight to it. It’s not something I can take off. I have to move with it and through it. It’s a choice to keep walking regardless of the forecast. I can’t do it alone.


Truly, my faith walk is an anchor in the wind. My comfort is the assurance of an all present Savior. My family and friends provide companionship. Life is better together. As a writer who wears many hats just like you, we don’t necessarily get to choose the hats on our heads. With thanksgiving, I’ll bring an umbrella and my binoculars. Let’s go.


MT Penny



30 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page